Programming Note: February Hiatus + Whole30 Wrap-Up

NoticeYeah, I’m going to take the rest of February off in an attempt to unplug for a bit. But before I do, I’ll leave you with one more rant to entertain you (see here).

Never fear, I’ve got some fun stuff in the pipeline for March, but sometimes I like to pretend I have a real-world life. I also have a doozie of an article to which I need to devote some research time. I’m also continuing to help the Ancestral Health Society get organized for this year’s Ancestral Health Symposium in Atlanta on August 15-17.

In the meantime, I’ll still be trolling Twitter occasionally and linking to fun stuff I come across. And if you’re an email subscriber, you’ll automatically get my new content when I roll it out in March.

See you then!

___________________________

As for my Whole30+butter results, mission accomplished. I began on December 26 and finished on January 24, one day before a long weekend trip to Seattle to hang with my girl, Juliann, who you may know from a few guest posts. I stayed mostly Primal while there, not totally going off the rails headlong into a bowl of Cocoa Puffs or anything. Juliann was coming off her own month of Whole30ing, and we did make the silly mistake of too much alcohol on the first night, but the artisan cocktails of Local 360 were just too irresistible to pass up. I also got to meet up with the lovely Skylee Jane Robinson who I’d only gotten to meet briefly at AHS last year. The rest of the weekend passed by in a cold and rainy haze of oysters, blood sausage, and a visit to Molly Moon’s for an awesome sundae with salted caramel and melted chocolate ice creams topped with chocolate sauce and hazelnuts.

But I digress. The Whole30.

I shrank back my rhino butt by a few notches and my body feels like it’s been restored to a lovely pre-holiday-onslaught equilibrium. Sugar cravings are in check, my skin is clearer, and my relationship with real food feels stronger than ever.

MuscleManI lost a few pounds, but not as many as during my first Whole30, which is fine by me. I only wanted to trim off the holiday excess. Plus, I’m working out with more weights and I’m certain I’m putting on a little muscle because picking up my 30-pound daughter feels like a breeze these days.

Two things really jumped out at me this go-round:

  1. How easy it was, when last time felt like such a struggle.
  2. How much the foundation of Paleo and real food has sunk in.

It was a breeze. A lot less brain power went into planning meals and I just avoided eating out at restaurants for the most part. After a busy holiday season, it really felt like a big relief to chill out and not feel any expectations. I think this is in large part due to having been at this for two years, and I’ve been gradually weaning myself off dairy and sugars. I enjoy partaking in these occasionally, and alcohol, but they no longer need to make constant appearances. Though we’ll talk again after summer comes around…

As for the second one, I’ve often joked that my transformation into a full-on food snob is complete, but it’s truer than ever before. I cannot conceive of going into a fast food or chain restaurant and ordering anything, even if the primary ingredients seem fine. On my flight home from Seattle, I debated getting some breakfast at the airport, but the thought of the quality of the eggs and bacon I would get on my disposable plastic plate turned my stomach. So I ate a banana smeared with a packet of almond butter that I had on me and called it good.

Let them eat Frosted Flakes.

Let them eat Frosted Flakes.

Paleo takes some guff from critics for being “too elitist” due to its focus on expensive grass-fed meat, pastured eggs, and organic local produce. I mean, what suburban family of five can afford to eat this way? And perhaps some of this is warranted. But the blame for this shouldn’t be placed on us, the practitioners, it should be placed on those who’ve made real food inaccessible to everyone who deserves it.  You know what’s elitist? Suggesting that those who can’t afford a grass-fed steak with a side of broccoli should be damned to a life of Hamburger Helper and the accompanying health consequences. By putting up that smokescreen, those critics aren’t forced to deal with the real issues underlying all of this, which is that our food system is irretrievably broken and the only solution is to work around it.

So I honestly don’t mean to be a food snob, but real food matters. Every single bite. Even my husband, who has confessed that he would take pills for his nourishment if he could, admits that he’s becoming a food snob too. Quality matters, not because we’re better than anyone, but because it’s our right as humans to eat a diet that is biologically appropriate. Engaging in an occasional Whole30 is a fantastic reminder of this fact, and I am truly grateful that I have the opportunity to take advantage of the best foods on earth. Let’s all pause to give thanks that we understand this concept, that we’ve cut through the noise of a culture that doesn’t care about our best interests, and that we can eat food that nourishes us and contributes to us being happy, healthy, and strong.

5 Responses to “Programming Note: February Hiatus + Whole30 Wrap-Up”

  1. I feel like I’m slowly making the same transition to food-snob that you are… although I am still a good many steps behind.

    • I think if you’re doing it right, that’s the logical outcome. ;) Now, for those are interested, we have to figure out how to elevate everyone else’s food with our own.

  2. Sorry I pressed send to early! I’m a single mom who puts a focus on feeding my daughter and myself as Paleo as possible while on a budget. I gave up my crossfit membership for a Y membership and cable for Netflix! We don’t spend a lot of time and home anyway. I was able to put those extra funds into our grocery budget and I plan our meals based on flyers. We don’t struggle to buy Paleo foods. I’ve made a decision to out our health first and cut out unnessessary costs to make it happen. I don’t think Paleo is elitist. My budget is very modest and both my daughter and I are thriving :)
    I can honestly say she will never know Hamburger helper!

    • No worries, I erased the other one. :)

      Thank you for this comment. As families, we all have choices to make, and it’s sad that we live in a culture that doesn’t value true health. Indeed, our culture has no idea how to support that at all! My mom grew up in a dirt-poor, and I mean dirt poor, family with 7 kids and they ate things like marrow and liver, foods that were considered lowly but were actually enormously nutritious. That has been turned on its head now, and the culture that was the foundation of the poorer populations in this country, that of grandmas teaching food prep, has been fractured and devalued.

      So keep up the good work! And good on you for making some smart choices. Although, I often joke that when I need a fast dinner, I make the Paleo equivalent of Hamburger Helper, ground beef sautéed with whatever veggies are on hand. :)

  3. Quality matters for sure and once you realize that real, well-raised foods taste so much better than what you were eating before, you can’t really go back. As someone once said to me, we should just put a huge tax on candy and then take that money to subsidize the cost of real food instead of pushing sugar laden junk food.

Leave a Reply

