Whole30: 27

Another boring restaurant experience. I ordered the guacamole burger (local, grass-fed, organic), no bun no cheese. Side salad, which ended up naked after I removed the cheese and candied walnuts. So my lunch consisted of a patty with guacamole on it and a bunch of lettuce with olive oil and balsamic vinegar poured on it. I don’t know why I even bother paying for the privilege of such uninspired fare. Why is it that if I made the same thing at home, it would be so much better? Don’t most people have the opposite experience?

Rant over. Today was actually just fine. I think I might kinda miss my Whole30 when it’s done.

Breakfast: Last of the leftover meatloaf with a fried egg on top (cooked in coconut oil). Coffee with coconut milk and cinnamon.

Snack: Almond butter with a banana and a few dried cranberries.

Lunch: Burger patty with guacamole and lettuce with olive oil and vinegar.

Dinner: Homemade chicken soup (from leftover carcass of roasted chicken) with carrots, onion, celery, spinach, garlic, sage, and parsley.

Dessert: 1/2 coconut Larabar. It didn’t taste good to me, so I threw the rest away.

6 Responses to “Whole30: 27”

  1. waouh ! you nearly touch the end ! i screw my first try so i jumped back on monday 24 th, and this time, no cheat or craving so it feels good. i have 2 favorite restaurants where i can get what i want, but i know what you mean, it’s pretty frustating.

  2. Restaurant food becomes more and more disappointing as our own culinary skills improve through blogging, eh? I tasted a cheesecake last night and thought immediately about what was missing in the crust… btw, how do you do bananas and almond butter?? just dip or spread?? It sounds delicious!

    • Depends on the almond butter. If it’s in one of those to-go packs by Justin’s, I just squish it on and take bites. If it’s the chunky stuff I get at my co-op, I put about 2 Tbsp. worth in a dish, pop it in the microwave for about 20 seconds to soften, then cut a banana into slices on top and eat with a spoon. Also good with a sprinkling of dried fruit like cranberries.

  3. I’d much rather prepare my own food…eating out is so overrated!

    • I know, I’m so over it. But I cook so much I get weary and wish someone else would do it occasionally.

      The restaurants worth going to are so pricey for our purposes, but it’s nice to splurge every now and then.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Whole30: 27 | Paleo Digest - 10/28/2011

    […] blogs and sites on the web!Whole30: 27 The Paleo Periodical / Posted on: October 28, 2011The Paleo Periodical – Another boring restaurant experience. I ordered the guacamole burger (local, grass-fed, […]

Leave a Reply

