Recipe: Pumpkin Frittata

I think. I think this is a frittata. Something like that, anyway.

I dreamed this up and hoped it would work, because I needed something to break up the breakfast boredom. If you’re in the mood for something sweet-ish without actually being sweet, this is a good one. As is, it’s Whole30 compliant, but if I weren’t on a Whole30, I might consider adding a tablespoon or two of honey to the egg mixture or drizzling a tiny bit of real maple syrup on top.

Pumpkin Frittata

coconut oil, for cooking

1/4 sugar pie pumpkin, grated (butternut squash or sweet potato would sub just fine)

4 eggs

1/3 cup coconut milk

1 ripe banana

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. each ground ginger, nutmeg, and allspice (or 1 1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice)

dash of salt

1) Melt coconut oil in ovenproof 10-inch skillet set over medium-high heat. Add grated pumpkin, stirring until softened and browned spots begin to appear, about 5-6 minutes.

2) Meanwhile, add rest of ingredients to a blender. Whirl until combined.

3) When pumpkin is ready, pour egg mixture into skillet. Cover and cook until it is mostly set, about 10 minutes. Fire up your broiler and place the uncovered skillet about 6 inches beneath the flames to finish cooking. Keep an eye on it. Frittata is ready when top is set and a few brown spots appear.

Serves 2 alone, might serve 4 with additional sides like bacon.

12 Responses to “Recipe: Pumpkin Frittata”

  1. what a great combination, sounds yummy !

  2. Can I used canned pumpkin??
    If so, how much, thanks!

    • Hmm…if I did, I would try a 1/2 can and I would add it to the blender with everything else. Maybe add an egg or two?

      Also, if you’re cool with some sweeteners, you could try omitting the banana and adding 2 Tbsp. of honey or maple syrup. The banana here is mostly for sweetness and body, but the canned pumpkin would solve the body problem.

      Let me know if you try it!

      • I tried this with canned pumpkin and it was great! I added 2 eggs (6 total) and used the 1/2 can you mentioned. It was like a pumpkin pie flavored spongy pancake. Lol I would try with maple syrup if you want something sweeter or if you do dairy cream cheese kinda sounds good too :) I will definitely be cooking this again!

  3. jen annan house Reply 10/27/2011 at 2:37 pm

    I’ve discovered I don’t like coconut milk. Is there a substitute for that?

    • I would be surprised if you noticed it in this dish. It’s more of a custard when finished.

      The only suitable substitute I can think of is dairy. Heavy cream. :)

      You could try almond milk or something, but I’m not sure if that stuff is Whole30 approved or not.

      You could also just try it without. It would lack the creamy, custardy texture and flavor. Maybe more like a pumpkin omelet?

      • jen annan house 10/27/2011 at 2:53 pm

        Good to know. What kind of coconut milk (and brand) do you recommend?

        For the sugar pie pumpkin/sweet potato/squash – how much (ball park is fine) – down here in California are vegetables and fruits come in small medium and large!

  4. @Jen, I use Native Forest brand since it’s the only non-BPA can. But I use Thai Kitchen (organic) in a pinch, it has the best texture.

    Hmm…I would say it comes out somewhere between 1/2 cup to a cup of grated pumpkin. Exact measures aren’t needed. I would aim to cover the bottom of the pan with about a 1/2 inch of grated pumpkin.

    Hope that helps! And I know what you mean about CA produce, I used to live in the Bay Area. :)

    • jen annan house Reply 10/27/2011 at 2:59 pm

      Me too (Bay Area that is). Thanks for the brand recommendation and the measurements. It looks absolutely delicious and whatever day we’re on, I’m ready to make this pumpkin whatever you call it!

  5. I’m digging anything pumpkin right now…just posted a recipe for pumpkin pecan pie muffins…this frittata looks wonderful! I have two more days of traveling (and eating out of a cooler on an airplane!) and this will be my breakfast when I get home…sounds warm and comforting!

    http://simplylivinghealthy.org/2011/10/27/pumpkin-pecan-pie-muffins/

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Recipe: Pumpkin Frittata | Paleo Digest - 10/27/2011

    […] and sites on the web!Recipe: Pumpkin Frittata The Paleo Periodical / Posted on: October 27, 2011The Paleo Periodical – I think. I think this is a frittata. Something like that, anyway. I dreamed this up and […]

  2. Holy Crap! I made butter! « Sassy Primal - 01/29/2012

    […] something in the kitchen since it was already messy. I had a giant can of leftover pumpkin from my pumpkin frittata that I made last week and decided to try making some cashew nut butter (inspired by this recipe at […]

Leave a Reply

