Whole30: 24

Courtesy Allan Lorde

Not sure why, but I had an attack of the snacky-snacks again. Something about a Whole30 just makes me hungrier than usual.

Started the day off with a meatloafy bang and was still hungry before lunch arrived. Then I was vulnerable again to the afternoon lull, and I’m pretty sure it’s because I went to bed late last night, which was probably due to that tiny bit of coffee I had yesterday afternoon, which was probably due to me being born in Iowa 34 years ago…

But as far as nutrients go, I think I did pretty darn good. And I had slipped on my commitment to try something new every week (here), so I have some catching up to do. As of lunch today: 2 down (liver and sardines), 2 more to go. I’d never had sardines before, and I can’t say I enjoyed them per se, but they weren’t as bad as I’d feared. I think the reaction was purely psychological. Someday I’ll get over myself.

Breakfast: Slab of leftover meatloaf, one fried egg. Coffee with coconut milk and cinnamon.

Snack: Handful cashews.

Lunch: Sardine Salad w/ Lemon-Caper Vinaigrette (will post recipe). Mixed greens, sardines, 1/2 avocado, tomatoes, radishes, green onions, basil with a dressing of olive oil, lemon juice, capers, S&P.

Snack: Banana with almond butter.

Dinner: Hard to describe…I sautéed onions, garlic, and mushrooms in some coconut oil, added some jamón serrano (Spanish prosciutto with paprika), crushed tomatoes, kalamata olives, and spinach. Then cracked four eggs into this and popped it in the oven until the eggs set. I ate three of the eggs with the wonderful bed of tomatoey yumminess while I spared one egg for my little gal. I’ll also post this recipe someday.

7 Responses to “Whole30: 24”

  1. Are you hungry for more nutrients or do you crave something special ? do you feelit like a lack of energy ?

    • I just don’t think it could be nutrients. I’ve been more aware of them during the Whole30 and I’m still hungrier than I ever was during the nine previous months of Primal eating.

      It’s actual hunger cues, as in rumbly tummy which lead to thoughts about food. I guess it could still be my body trying to trick me into eating dairy or sugar, but I just don’t know. I’m also still having trouble sleeping through a night and my intestines still aren’t right. It’ll be interesting to see what happens when I finish the Whole30.

      • Thank you for sharing ! so what do you do when you feel that hunger, do you eat something or do you wait until the next meal ? hope everything will get in order for you

  2. I’m right there with you on the hungry part too…It’s definitely a rumble in my tummy followed by an acute awareness of hunger/feeling empty…

  3. I had persistent hunger during my Whole30. I didn’t have access to enough quality fats, so I ended up compensating by eating LOTS of fruits and sweet potatoes – and still felt hungry – and my digestion was totally out of whack from all those added carbs + fiber. I’m slowly coming around to the idea that I need to test myself on a month of butter and whole cream + whole30 (maybe even minus fruit to see if digestion improves) to see if I can fill in the fat void enough from pastured dairy and pastured beef. If you’re up for doing that kind of experimentation let me know…now that we’re headlong into the holiday season I may wait to do the whole30 + pastured butter and heavy cream (fruit potentially eliminated, too) experience in January 2012.

    • I definitely think there’s something to the dairy being an agent of fullness. I wasn’t having much before, but a bit of cream in my daily tea and a little cheese garnish on some food seems to go a long way.

      I guess we’ll see how I feel when January comes. Keep me posted. My general feeling right now is that I can’t imagine doing this again for quite some time. I can see needing it after a vacation with some bad eating or when I feel the need to buckle down. But January may be too soon. :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Whole30: 24 | Paleo Digest - 10/25/2011

    […] blogs and sites on the web!Whole30: 24 The Paleo Periodical / Posted on: October 25, 2011The Paleo Periodical – Not sure why, but I had an attack of the snacky-snacks again. Something about a Whole30 […]

Leave a Reply

