Whole30: 23

Mistake of the day: I let myself get hungry.

I had about 1 1/2 eggs scrambled in coconut oil and nothing else for breakfast (other than coffee). I was so hungry by the time I was cooking lunch that I had to nosh on cashews. I don’t mind eating a few nuts here and there, but, in general, I do try to make it between meals without snacking.

This month there have been a lot of nuts. The whole first week I was constantly ravenous, and nuts helped fill in the blanks. Then I traveled, and nuts are just darn handy on the road. But when I’m home and happily ensconced in my kitchen, I try not to go overboard on them. Lesson learned. Next time, I’ll just put some darned avocado on those eggs!

And then late afternoon hit…I’ve been working on some freelance work and I couldn’t get my new addiction out of my head—banana with almond butter. And I had a little more coffee, which I don’t normally do, but I was hoping it would help me bust through the research I was sitting on. Mmm…not so much.

So not a stellar day, but not a faileo either.

Breakfast: 1 1/2 eggs scrambled in coconut oil. Coffee with coconut milk and cinnamon.

Snack: Handful cashews.

Lunch: Organic chicken kielbasa (Smart Chicken brand = no sugar!) sliced and sautéed in coconut oil with red and green cabbage and green onions.

Snack: One banana with almond butter. 1/3 cup coffee with coconut milk and cinnamon.

Dinner: Meatloaf made with lots of veggies (spinach, mushrooms, onion, garlic, carrots). Sweet potatoes roasted with coconut oil.

8 Responses to “Whole30: 23”

  1. i don’t handle nuts and almond butter very well either. Since a few days, one avocado is a breackfast staple, along with tomatoes and some kind of protein (eggs, or this morning, a steack !)
    I don’t eat dinner anymore, and i am not so hungry in the morning, but i eat because i am afraid of crap snacking in the morning.

  2. jen annan house Reply 10/25/2011 at 6:53 am

    Wow, Day 23. I really look forward to your daily updates. It’s like running a marathon, and having someone note the mileposts as we run along. It’s been an incredible experience. I have been contemplating what I have missed and what I have not. On the “I don’t miss you one bit” list – alcohol, including wine; sugar, baked goods that include white flour. On the “I do miss you” list – Point Reyes Blue Cheese, good quality feta cheese. And La Brea’s Whole Grain bread. Not a lot of bread, but maybe now and then? Or is that supposed to be on the never list? Here’s to Day 24!

    • Yes, I’ve been contemplating my own miss/don’t miss list. Definitely miss bacon and butter. And the fall weather has me wanting to bake something yummy with almond flour. Some cheeses, for sure. I also don’t miss alcohol very much.

      As for bread, I think it’s technically on the “Never Again!!!” list, but you know, each to their own. :) We all have our favorite treats. The only times I’ve had bread since going Primal are at restaurants with paté or something. As time goes by, I just don’t look at gluten as being harmless anymore and I suffer the next day or two. I’m immersed in research right now for a few projects, and gluten just looks worse and worse. I think I’m developing an actual aversion to it.

  3. I have found myself eating a few more nuts/nut butter on the Whole 30 as well…not overboard probably but way more than I normally do…
    Banana and almond butter is also my favorite…
    Pre-whole 30 my dessert/snack indulgence of choice was slightly frozen berries with a beautiful dollop of fresh whipped cream sprinkled with cinnamon…I’ve now traded that for a sliced banana topped with a spoonful of almond butter topped with a handful of frozen cherries drizzled with warmed coconut butter…I think I even like it better than the berries and whip…

  4. Bananas with almond butter is something I’ll have to try since I like both. Nuts are totally addicting for me… there are some items I just can’t have in my pantry. I seem to have no will power over them:P

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Whole30: 23 | Paleo Digest - 10/24/2011

    […] blogs and sites on the web!Whole30: 23 The Paleo Periodical / Posted on: October 24, 2011The Paleo Periodical – Mistake of the day: I let myself get hungry. I had about 1 1/2 eggs scrambled in coconut […]

Leave a Reply

