Whole30: 22

Alright, mini rebellion time.

So we’re sitting at a table out on the patio of our local “meat-centric” restaurant enjoying a gorgeous sunny fall day. We get the brunch menu and even here, at this establishment, I’m having trouble working around a Whole30. I decided to eat the potatoes fried in duck fat, but I had them hold the toast.

I’m chafing again at the restrictions. Beginning to count the days until it’s over. But here’s the thing: I know that this is also a trick my mind is playing on me. So while the emotions of it are very real, the source of them is the same as getting annoyed at standing in a long line. Which is to say that my brain is tired of not getting its way. Of having to think outside its comfort zone. Of struggling, having to be prepared, having to make all the “right” decisions. It gets old. And I get tired. But then?

I laugh at myself. Because if we can create amusement around the things that drive us crazy, we’ll all be more sane. And I keep on keeping on, even though I really just wanna sprinkle some Parmesan on my veggies.

Breakfast: Some wack-a-doodle concoction I made with coconut milk, eggs, grated pumpkin, a banana, some dates, and spices. I think it was a frittata-type thing. I’ll post the recipe this week.

Lunch: Hanger steak, 2 fried eggs, potatoes fried in duck fat. A few bites of pickled veggies.

Dinner: Awesome grilled pork tenderloin stuffed with chanterelle mushrooms. Grilled zucchini and broccoli. Salad with avocado, pomegranate seeds, and pumpkin seeds with a dressing made with fresh orange juice, olive oil, garlic, a bit of vinegar, S&P.

Exercise: Walk downtown and back, about 4 miles round-trip, with mega hill for the last two blocks before home.

 

4 Responses to “Whole30: 22”

  1. Oh, I remember writing a lot during day 20 to 30. It’s like the spiritual side of the challenge kicks in. I saw clarity in the INTEGRITY of food choices I was making during this part of the challenge. For every cheat, I wanted to add another day. Stuff like that. Can’t say I’ll ever eat the same again after the 30Day. And, I already was a Paleo/Primal eater.

    • Thank you for this, great comment. Yes, the integrity. So many people ask me why I’m doing this when I’ve already restricted my food choices so much. As though it has no value to evaluate what we eat and why.

      I find I have more irritation with the dominant food paradigm as a result. It really shouldn’t be this hard to find pure food. I think it’s starting to eat away at me a little, but luckily I do have a good foundation in taking a step back and looking at things objectively before I throw myself down the abyss. ;)

  2. Big Time! This is a challenge to the way things are SUPPOSED to be. The Western diet had 2 items introduced and one WAY overused and cultivated: potatoe, rice, and corn. Take that and over process them with refined sugar and we move may to fast for us to evolve and we still haven’t found a Peoples that have adapted to this type of eating. There is no Fittest among us thriving on the Western Diet. There is just you and me and the rest of the populations (Mauri Tribe) that thrive on the Real.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Whole30: 22 | Paleo Digest - 10/23/2011

    […] blogs and sites on the web!Whole30: 22 The Paleo Periodical / Posted on: October 23, 2011The Paleo Periodical – Alright, mini rebellion time. So we’re sitting at a table out on the patio of our […]

Leave a Reply

