Some Workout Inspiration

Happy Friday! As an apology for a lack of entertaining content lately due to journaling my Whole30 experience, here’s a video I made at one of the playground workouts.

First we did a warm-up. Then, using a Trivial Pursuit board, we assigned an exercise station to each color on the board (think things like tri dips, pull-ups, squats, box jumps, etc.). Roll the dice, perform the exercise you get. It was a blast. You could do something similar with some other kind of board or with a Twister spinner board.

At the end, we hopped over picnic tables while others did dragonflies (plank position, move one foot laterally then cross opposite hand over and back to plank position).

Here’s a link to another one of our playground workouts. There are good links there for more inspiration for your own playground workout.

What are your outdoor plans this weekend?

7 Responses to “Some Workout Inspiration”

  1. Thank you for sharing ! it seems a lot of fun ! do you do this on a regular basis ?

    • It is a lot of fun. Several of my friends say when we’re done that they don’t feel all that worked out and then the next day, they can barely walk! You just don’t notice how hard you’re working.

      I aim for at least once a week of this. We’ll see if I can keep it up this winter. :)

  2. jen annan house Reply 10/21/2011 at 7:21 am

    Day 20! What an incredible adventure my first Whole30 has been, and I thank you so much for leading the charge! I haven’t gone near the scale or counted calories since October 2nd, but everyone has told me I look amazing. Thanks, you, for your daily inspiration. And where did you find a Trivial Pursuit board, playground size?

    • Yay! Congrats on Day 20! I’d be interested to hear at the end what your thoughts are and how it’s influenced you.

      As for the board, it’s literally just a regular old Trivial Pursuit board. There are probably many boards that would work. You just want to make sure there are enough stops to be worth it. We estimated that depending on the roll of the dice, folks would get somewhere between 9-15 exercise stops.

      I forgot to mention too, that when we got back to the center, we had to correctly answer a trivia question or else we had to keep going! :)

      • jen annan house 10/21/2011 at 8:27 am

        I can tell you at Day 20 it has changed my life for the best. :) I think I am missing something on the playground workouts…is there a website?

  3. @Jen, If you check out the link to my original playground workout post above, there are many links to exercise ideas (Fitness Explorer, Al Kavadlo, etc.). I’m not sure anything out there gives you a whole routine though. I just cobble together some stuff.

    Really, you could just go to a playground and start messing around. Think of other ways to use what’s there.

    I usually start with a warm-up (jogging, jumping jacks etc.). Then do either a circuit through the playground (seen in the video in the post I link to) or a set of exercises (tabata intervals or fun stuff involving squats, tri dips, etc.). Then a challenge of some sort: pull-ups, up and over the monkey bars, partner carries (piggybacks), or animal crawls (see Fitness Explorer for those).

    Think bodyweight exercises. Think sprints. Think of connecting movements. Like 10 squats, sprint to sidewalk, 10 push-ups, sprint back, repeat. Stuff like that. :)

  4. jen annan house Reply 10/21/2011 at 1:37 pm

    So appreciate your help and guidance. Thanks for all the helpful information. Now I’m going to the playground. :)

Leave a Reply

