Whole30: 18

Ahh…it’s nice to be home.

I feel fully able to maximize my nutrients again. It’s so much easier when you’re in your element.

Nothing major to report. Just basking in the warm fuzzy feelings that come from a day well spent. I exercised, I worked, I stocked up on groceries, I cooked an awesome dinner, and I played with my daughter in the bath tub.

Breakfast: Primal Hot Cereal. Cup of coffee with coconut milk and cinnamon.

Lunch: Salad made with tat soi and arugula, tuna, avocado, green onions, pumpkin seeds and a dressing of apple cider vinegar, mustard, and olive oil. Soda water with lime.

Dinner: Lamb shoulder chops with mustard, garlic, rosemary, and lemon sauce sautéed in lard. Side of steamed broccolini tossed with olive oil, lemon juice, and S&P.

Dessert: Almond Butter-Coconut Milk Parfait with huckleberries. I know it was more nuts, which, in combination with the hot cereal from this morning, puts me over for the day. But yum.

Exercise: Playground workout! Jogging warm-up with multi-directional running drills. Playground circuit that incorporated squat jumps, swing jump-throughs, side box jumps, and monkey bars. Then five rounds of burpees with a push-up followed by a sprint. Partner ab exercises (one lays on ground with feet in the air, other pushes feet in various directions). Awesome.

6 Responses to “Whole30: 18”

  1. sounds like a great day. i am finding my pace too and have less craving for sugar or wheat (this one was hard, but i have just read wheat belly from william davis and it has given me some motivation not to binge in)

  2. Your playground workouts are inspiring!

  3. This is a sort of hybrid of several recipes, the technique is from America’s test kitchen
    Gf dutch baby recipe:
    6 eggs room temp (can also use 4 for a thinner custard layer)
    2 tsp organic lemon zest
    2 tbsp lemon juice
    1 tsp vanilla
    1& 1/4 cup coconut milk
    1 cup gluten free flour (I used bobs)
    1/4 tsp xantham gum
    1/4 tsp kosher salt.

    Preheat oven to 450
    Coat large cast iron skillet with generous amount of coconut oil (or stainless steel)
    Put skillet in hot oven for full 10 minutes

    Mix dry ingredients
    Beat eggs with whisk for about a minute
    Add rest of wet ingredients to eggs, mix well
    Add wet ingredients to dry, mix well.

    Pour into hot skillet in oven

    Bake for 25 minutes

    It will come out all puffy, let sit for a few minutes and the center will fall and become creamy and custardy.

    I want to try this with almond flour, but I don’t have any on hand.

    Happy cooking!

    • Ooh, thanks so much for tracking me down and typing that out for me! It sounds so good!

      Yes, I wonder how almond flour would fair. Hmm…might require a few changes. If I give it a go, I’ll let you know. Gotta finish this Whole30 first. :)

Leave a Reply

