Whole30: 12

As a follow-up to yesterday’s post…I’ve been doing some research today for a project I’m working on, and I just can’t quite make it all add up. How is it possible that so many different researchers can look at the same data and come to different conclusions? And fight for their bad conclusions tooth and nail?

When I think about all the people out there needlessly suffering because of the low-fat, whole-grain garbage parading as dietary advice, it seems criminal. My in-laws mentioned a friend of theirs who has severe arthritis, to the point she has trouble just strolling around or navigating stairs. And her doctor told her to lose weight. You know. Because it’s that simple. I had to fight back tears, literally, thinking about this poor woman’s plight and how much suffering she must go through because our @#$damned food system is so broken that she can’t even see her way out of it. Because even if she did try to lose weight, she’d probably turn to cardboard-with-sugary-tomato-sauce-on-it-in-a-microwaveable-box Jenny Craig and continue to be in pain. I have dreams of anonymously sending bone broth to her door.

Why is everything in our culture so hell-bent on destroying us? And why am I still the weirdo because I’ve said “No more”? I guess if I have to be a pariah in service of my health, then so be it.

I think the reason these issues are coming up for me now more than ever is that it is nearly impossible to be in the world on a Whole30. I’m heading to the Bay Area for a few days, so I researched restaurants hoping to find something fun and manageable. Such a bummer. I promise to do my best, but a few concessions may have to be made in the interest of sanity. But that’s just what I mean: concessions. Over and over and over, unless you’re comfortable being a curmudgeonly hermit cooking all your own meals all day long. Which I am most of the time, but even hermits like a burger made by someone else occasionally.

Despite the rant, today was better, though I’ve been suffering a bit due to yesterday’s sneaky sugar and who-knows-what-else. Bloated. And 2 new zits on a face that hasn’t seen a zit in months.

Breakfast: Primal Hot Cereal. Coffee with coconut milk and cinnamon.

Lunch: Shrimp stir-fry in coconut oil with mustard greens, garlic, green onions, mushrooms, and red bell pepper.

Snack: Handful cashews.

Dinner: Leftover bison Bolognese sauce on spaghetti squash.

 

4 Responses to “Whole30: 12”

  1. Did you read ” good and bad calories ” ? i am just finished it and it’s very impressive. As you said, despite a LOT of studies showing how carbohydrate makes us fat and sick, the food pyramid is still advising to eat a LOT of sugar. I understand how you feel sad for people, i do too.
    Enjoy your vacation !

    • Haven’t read GCBC, but have read Why We Get Fat (GCBC for dummies ;) ). I’m currently working on a nutrition project that will have me referencing GCBC, so I’m sure I’ll get acquainted. :)

      Thank you! I’ll still be posting daily on my progress. We’ll see what the Bay Area holds for me nutritionally.

  2. jen annan house Reply 10/14/2011 at 8:44 am

    Day 12 for me. I am so very happy you threw the gauntlet down for the Whole30. Your posts are so very helpful to me, as well as to others, I’m sure. I just returned from a family trip visit, and it was very difficult to “keep” the Whole30 while traveling through airports and eating at restaurants. I think I did fairly well, didn’t intentionally eat anything non-Whole30, and had a great visit. One night’s meal was ground bison steak. Incredibly delicious and now I am very excited to try your Bison Pumpkin stew. Thanks for keeping me honest and helping me navigate this challenge. :)

    • I can’t thank you enough for this comment. I’ve been feeling a bit grumpy (if you couldn’t tell…) and it really helps to know that someone out there is getting something out of this. :)

      Wow! Whole30 through an airport and family trip! That’s hardcore. Good for you for sticking to the plan. You give me hope that I can do the same on my trip.

Leave a Reply

