Whole30: 9

So today was the first morning I felt comfortable skipping a proper breakfast. I had a cup of coffee with coconut milk, so I had something, but not the usual egg-fest.

I used to do this all the time when I was having cream in my tea and I had to get my daughter out the door to her daycare. But since initiating my Whole30, this hasn’t felt remotely possible. I was relieved that I wasn’t starving this morning.

Which makes me suspect that my body is simply adjusting to the new paradigm. The lack of dairy fat is certainly still a theory, but I haven’t changed much and my hunger is reduced.

There’s something I’ve been waiting to mention until I had established a definite pattern, and that is my lack of sleep. The last time I had trouble with waking up in the middle of the night and not being able to get back to sleep was in the first month of going Primal when I suffered from a big bout of carb flu. I’m having the same wakeful periods all of a sudden and not sure why. Maybe I’m lower carb than I mean to be and I’m going back into ketosis. I hope it resolves soon.

Today’s menu was Leftovers City.

Breakfast: Cup of coffee with coconut milk and cinnamon.

Lunch: Leftover ribeye steak with leftover veggie soup.

Snack: Almond butter with huckleberries and coconut milk.

Dinner: 2 leftover chicken legs and leftover roasted sweet potatoes.

Snack: (Book Club meeting) A handful of celery and carrot sticks. And I really, really wanted to eat one of the chocolate chip muffins, but I didn’t.

6 Responses to “Whole30: 9”

  1. Talking about sleep pattern, since eating paleo, i sleep much better and deeper, but i have a hard time to wake up feeling energized …
    As i told you before, i don’t feel hungry most of the time, i could just have lunch i guess (but i am afraid, don’t know really of what ? maybe it is so much a ” to do ” in our society, to have 3 sitting meals) i don’t eat anymore at night, because i am not hungry, and it’s dark outside now, and i feel much more like sleeping than eating …
    congrats for the non-cake !

    • Adeline, there are many members of the Paleo community who advocate eating only when you’re hungry. So as long as you’re not losing too much weight and you’re in a healthy range, you can absolutely eat only when you feel like it. Which probably means you’re doing it right! :) Meaning, you’re getting lots of healthy fats and nutrients with your meals.

      • Like Rachel said, i am scared that if i eat only one meal and say one snack during the day, i will ” skip a meal and then gorge myself on crap “. i guess that’s why i keep eating 3 regular meals even if i am not hungry…

  2. Interesting. I am very new to eating Paleo and on Day 23 of the Whole 30. I’m am noticing my hunger diminishing, would like to fast or skip a meal, but… I’m scared. I am so used to being hungry and needing snacks on me all the time. I’m worried I will skip a meal and then gorge myself on crap.

    Of course, I should just try it. Have a bit more confidence in my body.

    Just found you via Health-Bent.com. Interested to look around and find out more about this site.

    • Are you just starting out on the Paleo process? Did you start with the Whole30? Wow, that’s hardcore! :)

      Not feeling constantly hungry is one of the best benefits, to me, of eating this way. It’s so freeing to not depend on a granola bar at 10am and then a cup of coffee and a scone at 3pm just to get through a day.

      So at first, it can seem scary. I kept a container of macadamia nuts and coconut flakes in my purse just in case, and you know what? I never needed it. Another trick is to eat a full meal before going to social gatherings if you think you’ll be tempted. It’s amazing how much more socializing you can do when you’re not starving! :) Feel free to be prepared for a snack attack, but don’t be surprised if it never comes.

      • i can also relate that i am afraid of lacking … even if my fridge is full. don’t know if it’s in the genes or a consequence of low fat diet i did before (vegan low fat)

Leave a Reply

