Whole30: 8

So an accidental revelation with my coffee. I happened to have a can of my regular Native Forest brand coconut milk open, having used some of it for my breakfast, so I poured it into my coffee. The texture is thinner than that of the Thai Kitchen coconut cream I’ve been using. I poured a 1:1 ratio of coconut milk to coffee, and whaddya know? It was pretty darn good. I’m not drinking much coffee, it’s probably the equivalent of a 1/2 cup, and that feels fine and sustainable. It didn’t wig me out and I got just the gentle kick I need to start my day. Yes, I realize these are the mad ramblings of a caffeine addict.

In general, I feel like I’m finally hitting my Whole30 stride. It’s easier to make decisions about food and meals. I don’t have to think about it as hard.

Other than that, I really need some exercise. I haven’t been prioritizing it this week and subsequently feel a bit frazzled and restless. Maybe I can get out for a trail run tomorrow. A swim this week would be nice too.

Breakfast: Primal Hot Cereal (almonds, pecans, hazelnuts, banana, coconut milk, cinnamon and cardamom whirled in a food processor) with huckleberries. Coffee with coconut milk and cinnamon.

Lunch: (Picnic lunch at the pumpkin patch with my daughter) 2 leftover paprika-thyme seasoned chicken legs, a few cashews, about 4 grapes.

Snack: 1/2 small local apple with almond butter.

Dinner: Bison stew with pumpkin, shallots, beef broth, and spices on a side of spinach sautéed with garlic in avocado oil. Bison browned in lard. (Will post recipe soon)

Too many almonds today…

2 Responses to “Whole30: 8”

  1. the breackfast sounds yummy, was it easy to digest ?

    • I’ve not had any issues with it, but ever since switching to this way of eating, my intestines have been humming along happily. I love it for a good change of pace from eggs.

Leave a Reply

