Whole30: 6

This doesn’t happen often, but today is the kind of day where I’m looking back and it’s so scattered I can scarcely remember what I had for breakfast.

But I remember being in the grocery store’s produce aisle thinking, “What can I buy for maximum flavor?” When you can’t rely on a shake from a Worcestershire bottle, you start to prize things like onions, garlic, and ginger. I also bought a bunch of beef bones! Looks like I have some bone broth in my future…

Actually, if I think back to this morning, I recall that my husband officially defected from the dairy hiatus. I’ve been nagging him to go dairy free to see if it would help his severe eczema, but I guess we’ll never know. I threatened him with divorce, but he decided a morning latte was more important than healthy skin and a reduced inflammatory response. So I guess I just have to put up with being awoken in the middle of the night by urgent scratching and lotion application.

So it occurs to me that this Whole30 business is almost completely psychological. People are curious about why I would take on such a challenge when I’m already eating (in their estimation) so restrictedly. And the answer is that it’s a challenge for challenge’s sake, but it’s also a great opportunity to take stock and ask ourselves, “What exactly am I putting in my body and why?”

Which leads me to another sad revelation that I’ve known for some time, but may just have to finally reckon with, which is: caffeine is doing me no favors.

Breakfast: Two eggs scrambled with pork belly (leftover from last night) and leeks. Coffee with coconut cream and cinnamon.

Snack: Handful of cashews.

Lunch: Sautéed goat sausage on top of arugula/tat soi greens, green onions, and avocado tossed in an olive oil/tarragon vinegar dressing.

Dinner: Roasted chicken legs with paprika and thyme, side of sweet potatoes roasted with coconut oil and garlic.

Was thinking I was going to have some dessert, but I’m so full, I doubt it’ll happen.

One Response to “Whole30: 6”

  1. i also find that beeing on a ” restricted “challenge makes me more aware of how i am feeling when i eat, if i am hungry or not … by the way, i still not feel a real hunger, so i try to eat less and less until i can feel hunger and … satiety

Leave a Reply

