Whole30: 5

Oh Day 5. I hardly knew ye.

The morning started off a bit precariously. I’m really just not into eggs without butter and cheese, and I find choking them down in the mornings is becoming a tedious chore. But as I mentioned yesterday, I’m starving most of the time for some strange reason, so I need my breakfast. The ground bison I had set out to cook hadn’t thawed yet. Hmm…Maybe some Primal Hot Cereal? Nope, food processor in the dishwasher, and I ain’t washing that bad boy by hand. So eggs it was.

But I cooked them up a bit differently (I usually scramble ’em), over hard (hate runny yolks), and topped them with some prosciutto (no sugar!) and avocado. It was pleasantly adequate.

I watched my daughter eat grapes this afternoon and she would every so often offer one to me. I really didn’t want one. Had zero desire. My sugar cravings are really quiet right now. I should say were, because then I saw this recipe for Mashed Sweet Potatoes and Bananas with Pecan Streusel. Obviously, I would leave out the flour in the streusel, but man, someday I’m going to destroy a heaping helping of that.

Oh, and I miss bacon. Bacon, you complete me.

Breakfast: 2 eggs over hard with prosciutto and avocado. Coffee with coconut cream and cinnamon.

Snack: A few cashews.

Lunch: Ground bison sautéed with tomatoes, spices, zucchini, mushrooms, and basil.

Snack: A few pinches of my daughter’s cashew/pumpkin seed/coconut flake trail mix.

Dinner: Braised pork belly in a sauce of shallots, garlic, carrot, celery, thyme, chicken broth, and mustard. Served on a side of riced cauliflower.

 

4 Responses to “Whole30: 5”

  1. I have eggs every morning. I scramble them with lots of fresh salsa (2-3 tablespoons full) and 2 big handfulls of baby spinach (2-3 cups?) it cooks down so much, but what a satisfying, stick to your ribs meal. :)

  2. your lunch looks yummy !! what do you use as fat for cooking ? you could cook your eggs in lard ?

    • I had been using some other oils, but I need to actually research whether or not they’re okay with heat. I forgot to do that…

      Coconut oil would be fine.

      I tried lard in my eggs and I couldn’t stomach it. In fact, eggs without butter or cheese are just really not seeming very good to me at all anymore. Maybe I’ll have a break-through on that soon, but in the meantime, I think I’ll try some other breakfast options.

Leave a Reply

