Whole30: 4

I’m in awe of anyone who eats this way all the time. Seriously, kudos. Eating this way requires a lot of forethought, preparation, and time. Without dairy or tamari or salami or other time-savers and flavor shortcuts, this is tough. I can do anything for 30 days, but I worry now that I’ll fall back on some convenience options when my time is served.

For some reason, even though I’ve been eating Primally for 9 months, I’m really hungry. Like a hunger I haven’t felt for a long time. I’m not quite making it between meals, which I find really odd and can’t explain. So I’ve been snacking on nuts to get me to mealtimes. I’m okay with this, but I just find it interesting. I’m eating large, nutrient-dense meals, so what could possibly account for the hunger?

I feel lean and really good though.

I met my exercise challenge for the week! I incorporated some sandbag drills (60 lb. actual sandbag) into my playground workout. See more details below.

As for my coffee conundrum, this morning went a little better. I used a ton of coconut cream (skimmed from the top of a can of coconut milk) and added a dash of cinnamon. Still not quite right, but passable.

Breakfast: Eggs scrambled in avocado oil with ground pork, spices, basil, and tomatoes. Coffee with coconut cream and cinnamon.

Snack: Handful of cashews.

Lunch: Shrimp Salad w/Chive Mayo (recipe will be up on the site Friday). Small bay shrimp, celery, radish, and red cabbage tossed with homemade chive mayo served on top of arugula and tat soi greens.

Snack: 1/4 of a pear.

Dinner: Ribeye steak with mustard greens sautéed in almond oil with mushrooms, garlic, and ginger.

Exercise: Slow jog warm-up (twice around), followed by two more go-rounds with exercises at each corner (jumping jacks, jump ropes, side lunge stretches, and a move with your hands in a circle above your head and you rotate from the waist in circles) and some random sprints thrown in. Then 5 rounds of tabata intervals (bear crawls, Hindu push-ups, planks, and box jumps). Then 1/2 the group did sandbag drills (one lap on one shoulder, next lap on the other; carrying in both arms; and dragging) while the rest did animal crawls (crab, rabbit, monkey, duck), then the groups switched. We topped it all off with Up-and-Overs, going at the monkey bars from the side, you have to hoist yourself up and over them, then down the other side any way you see fit.

3 Responses to “Whole30: 4”

  1. maybe you could increase fats on your main meals ? i have a hard time to feel hunger …so yesterday, i have skipped dinner and this morning, i am still not hungry so no breackfast ! i guess it means that i eat too much ?

  2. I read this one after Day 7, where I think you mentioned monitoring your fat intake (as in increasing it). I would wholeheartedly agree that Paleo must have substantial amounts of fat in it to keep you satiated. I’ve been eating Paleo since May and while the initial month was a struggle, it has gotten to be my norm. I do eat bacon almost daily, though, and I’m convinced that helps. I discovered coconut butter to be my favorite way to get plenty of fat in throughout the day. It is very thick, even moreso than almond butter, so it takes getting used to. My husband prefers lots of avocado for his fat source. My coach drinks olive oil by the spoonful if no other source is available, although I have yet to try it cuz I haven’t been that desperate. If you evaluate the calorie content of eating strict Paleo, it won’t add up to enough unless you get a bunch of those 9 calorie/fat grams. I recently watched a lecture where the speaker was testing out fat intake for optimal brain function. Along with determining which fat source best helped balance, memory recall, and sleep, he also found that he functioned best at 60% fat, 30% protein, and 10% carbs. So all that to just reinforce the idea of – eat a lot more fat, girl!

    • Great response! Thanks for all the feedback.

      I’m kinda confused though…because I’ve changed nothing else in my diet fat-wise except to remove dairy. Looking back, I often had three dairy sources with breakfast everyday: cream in my tea, eggs cooked in butter and topped with cheese. I’m guessing that got me off to a good start fat-wise. But I’m not sure I necessarily want to go back to having that much dairy when the 30 days are up. I feel somehow *cleaner* (less mucus-y) and might have a bit more energy without it.

      I’m conscious of fats and trying to get more of them and include them with every meal. Sometimes there are 4 different sources of fat in one meal! I definitely use olive oil, coconut oil, and lard. Lots of fatty meat. Avocado. Bacon will definitely be back on the menu too when I’m done.

Leave a Reply

