Whole30: 3

Ka-ching! Finally getting in the groove of this Whole30 business.

Made it to the Farmers’ Market and grocery store. The FM haul was particularly impressive: eggs, 10 lbs. of ground bison, bison stew meat, ground pork, goat sausages, arugula, tat soi, tomatoes, leeks, pears, raspberries, a spaghetti squash, mustard greens, zucchini…and I still feel like I’m forgetting something! I had to make a mid-shopping trip to the car to drop some of it off.

And I finally started maximizing my nutrients in each meal (except for breakfast, that was pre-grocery stock-up). I met my Unfamiliar Food Challenge for the week by sneaking some liver into tonight’s dinner.

I still haven’t figured out the coconut cream in the coffee. If you have any suggestions, let me know, because I’m discouraged enough to actually attempt going caffeine free at this point. Today, I used the thick cream from the top of a Thai Kitchen can and it’s still not cutting it for me.

But other than that, feeling much better and fully recovered from the weekend’s festivities. Food is fun again.

Breakfast: 2 eggs scrambled in avocado oil with chives. Coffee with coconut cream.

Snack: Handful of almonds.

Lunch: Arugula/tat soi salad with 3 chicken thighs sautéed in almond oil, radishes, pumpkin seeds, and an olive oil dressing with tarragon vinegar.

Snack:  A few pieces of my daughter’s pear.

Dinner: Curry Meatballs (with a little offal) in Creamy Tomato-Coconut Sauce from Mark’s Daily Apple. Served on riced cauliflower with olive oil. Soda water with lemon.

6 Responses to “Whole30: 3”

  1. Everything sounds yummy ! no tip for the coffee because i don’t drink any but i drink tea. in some tea (earl grey, i have to put milk in it ….) but in other tea (like green tea), i just can’t … maybe a coffee with a fragance would work ? (without cream i mean)

  2. Non-dairy creamer – the endless quest! Have you tried this mix of egg, coconut milk and coconut oil? http://followingmynose.blogspot.com/2010/10/primal-non-dairy-coffee-creamer.html

    I have had no success with it, I just can’t seem to make it and it curdles every time. BUT it seems I am in a minority, others rave about it.- read the comments. I might have another go at making it now that it’s getting warmer over here (NZ). I think room temperature could have something to do with it. I have tried leaving out the oil and whipping egg and coconut cream and vanilla together and that is great with berries, not so great in coffee.

  3. I am currently doing a Whole 30 as well and I really couldn’t give up the coffee this time around either… I am using the So Delicious Unsweetened Coconut Milk (http://www.turtlemountain.com/products/product.php?p=so_delicious_beverage_hg_unsweetened) in the carton, it really is just a watered down version of coconut milk… it’s definitely not heavy cream but it will get me thru the next 30 days anyways…

Leave a Reply

