Whole30: 2

Meh. Today wasn’t stellar, but not a disaster either. More like a holding pattern in the skies of mediocrity. Or something…

I still need to get to the grocery store and restock the fridge. I just haven’t had a whole lot of time or energy to devote to menu planning, and “meh” is what you get when you’re just scrounging around for fuel.

Breakfast was very nearly a bust. Lard just ain’t cutting it for eggs. Yech. And whatever you do, do not use this for creamer in coffee.

Lunch was more inspired, and I lucked out by finding a green chile-pork stew in my freezer for dinner. I found a stash of fake food in there that had been left by friends after a dinner party (ice cream, Gardenburgers), and I had such a visceral reaction to it—it went immediately into the trash. I literally couldn’t abide its presence.

Today was a little unusual in that I usually don’t eat this much fruit, especially of the grape and banana varieties.

Breakfast: 2 eggs scrambled in lard with prosciutto. Side of local/organic lacto-fermented beet/cabbage kraut. Coffee with coconut cream something-or-other in it.

Lunch: Tuna salad with olive oil, lemon, olives, and capers on romaine. Handful of grapes.

Snack: Small handful of almonds.

Dinner: Green chile-pork stew.

Dessert: 1/2 banana with almond butter on it.

Exercise: Vinyasa yoga!

7 Responses to “Whole30: 2”

  1. Yep – that coconut stuff is bad mother shut-your-mouth!
    But mediocre – it’s the new “great!”
    No (bad) news is good news etc.
    Bacon drippings would be great for those eggs, too!

    • So glad to hear I’m not the only hater of that coconut stuff! It might be fine hidden in a curry…

      Today is already going much better, so hopefully “mediocre” is in the rearview mirror. :)

  2. Get yourself some good coconut milk for your coffee – it makes a huge difference. I’m out of coconut milk right now so I used regular milk and I was not happy about it at all. Not as creamy and no lovely coconut-y taste.

    And I second the bacon drippings for eggs. But I think you’re trying to avoid bacon, right? What about coconut oil?

    • Yes, avoiding bacon due to sugar content. SUCH a bummer. I know for sure when I’m done with this 30 that bacon, sausage, and ham will come back. I think the amounts are just too negligible to bother with in daily life. But for the purposes of this, I’m trying to be hardcore strict. Just for fun. :)

      I feel like I’m doing something wrong with the coconut cream in coffee. I used Thai Kitchen today, which I think has the best texture but I don’t normally use due to BPA in the can. And it didn’t work. Maybe I will just go without caffeine because there ain’t no substitute for my creamy, sweet, comforting chai.

      • It took me about a week to get used to the difference. Whole Foods has some of the best coconut milk I’ve found so far but alas, no bueno for you.

        Also, add more than you think you want. One can only lasts me 2-3 days.

  3. iknow the whole milk protein and sugar is bad, but I can’t say I would ever throw out ice cream. Tell me it wasn’t BlueBell! Milk in my coffee is something I haven’t been able to give up.

  4. I’ve tried canned coconut milk in coffee, but it wasn’t nearly as good as I’d imagined. I found it oily and with an unpleasant taste. I’ve switched to whipping cream, which is definitely creamy and delicious.

Leave a Reply

