Whole30: 1

Before I get into how the first day of my Whole30 went, let me tell you how the day before my Whole30 went.

Saturday was the wedding of my good friends Heather and Brian (Congrats, you crazy kids!), which is why my Whole30 started on the 2nd and not the 1st. I knew it was going to be impossible to ignore champagne and cake. And I was right.

Luckily, Heather is Primal too, so there were plenty of options like nuts, salami, cheese, and veggies. But the festivities went from 3-11pm, and we drank the entire time. I still have no idea how many drinks total I had. I also have no idea how many mini pumpkin muffins I had. But hey! I had pâté! (On baguette toast…) Dinner was amazing: rack of lamb, gorgeous sautéed veggies, and perfectly creamy mashed potatoes. Followed by one of the best carrot cakes I’ve ever had. A huge slice. To recap: there was sugar, alcohol, dairy, and gluten. Lots of ’em.

So of course the next day I felt like garbage (this merits its own post), but perhaps that’s the best way to usher in a Whole30. It can only get better from there.

My first Whole30 day began with breakfast at the lodge (2 1/2 hours away from home) then we drove to a few sites along the North Umpqua River to see the steelhead and salmon returning from the ocean to spawn. Then home in the car (skipping lunch). So not the easiest circumstances, but I think I did okay, if not optimal.

Breakfast: 3 egg omelette with sautéed green beans, zucchini, mushrooms, and onions. Side of fruit (pineapple, blueberries, peaches). Black coffee.

Lunch: Handful of cashews and almonds in the car.

Dinner: Coconut Chicken Soup, no fish sauce, no chile-garlic sauce (they contain minute amounts of sugar). I had several helpings, it was so comforting and yummy, especially since the weather has gotten wetter and cooler.

Weight: 124. This is a pound or two over my usual (hmm…wonder why?), but I often fluctuate a few pounds. I record this here only for reference purposes, not for any hope that I’ll lose more. I guess we’ll see what the month brings.

I considered giving up caffeine during this time, but decided it was just too much all at once. Gotta draw a line somewhere.

I returned home to a mostly empty fridge, so it’s time to get organized. Tomorrow is Farmers’ Market day, so I’m looking forward to stocking up on fresh local produce, meat, and eggs.

4 Responses to “Whole30: 1”

  1. Ah yes, being primal on the wedding night was pretty much impossible, especially once they put that enormous piece of carrot cake in front of me…all this after the loads of alcohol, goat cheese souffle and mashed potatoes. My thoughts throughout the day were ‘I’m going Whole30 tomorrow, so live it up’! That I did, and let me tell you, my first day of marital bliss had me wondering if the head fog, minor headache and stuffy nose come with marriage?!?! Fortunately I’ve suffered these Primal (and alcohol) indulgences enough to have to believe it is not how marriage will be. After a few days of Whole30 myself we’ll either see Bridezilla coming out after the fact, or I’ll be good as new and feeling better than ever. After all that it is time for a good detox anyway.

    Thanks Karen for giving me the Whole30 incentive!

    • Ha! Yes, hopefully you are not allergic to marriage. ;) I’m guessing it was just the wine and cake.

      I’m still in recovery…though I think I may have some bonafide seasonal allergies too.

  2. Good about the java… learning to crawl – one itty bitty step at a time!
    Love this Whole 30!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Whole30: 1 | Paleo Digest - 10/03/2011

    […] blogs and sites on the web!Whole30: 1 The Paleo Periodical / Posted on: October 03, 2011The Paleo Periodical – Before I get into how my first Whole30 went, let me tell you how the day before my Whole30 […]

Leave a Reply

