Recipe: Green Chile Bacon Burgers

When I lived in Albuquerque, a green chile mecca, there was an Irish pub named O’Niell’s (not misspelled, by the way). I’m about to commit to a huge statement here, but I’m pretty sure their O’Niell’s Burger in Paradise is the best I’ve ever had. A juicy, seasoned beef patty topped with green chile, bacon, and cheese if you want it. Now, when I lived there, I had no idea it was the best burger. When I moved away, I assumed there would be other great burgers in my future. But no. There weren’t, not from a restaurant anyway.

I apologize for the lack of an actual photo. I think the last time I made these was the night before the Warrior Dash and we were all drinking and yakking too much to stop and take pictures. But trust me, these are awesome. If you’re beyond grilling capability this time of year, the flavors will be the same in house. You can roast the chiles over a gas stove flame, or skip this step altogether and just pile on some thawed frozen green chile or pour some Green Chile Sauce on top. But I will say…the slabs of freshly-roasted green chile are out of this world.

Green Chile Bacon Burgers

2 lbs. ground beef or bison

1 Tbsp. beef seasoning (I like Simply Organic’s Grind to a Salt, or something like Montreal Steak seasoning)

4 Anaheim or other green chiles

8 strips bacon, fully cooked

Optional garnishes: Lettuce and cheese (cheddar or jack are good options)

1) Preheat grill. Add meat to a medium bowl and mix in seasoning with clean hands until mixed thoroughly. Make four 1/2-lb. patties, being sure to make a dent in the middle so you don’t end up with hockey pucks.

2) Put chiles on grill over high heat until black and blistered. Remove from grill and put in a paper bag to sweat for at least 10 minutes. Cut off stem end and peel chiles, then cut in half lengthwise and crosswise into quarters, removing seeds as you work. Meanwhile, add burgers to grill for 3-4 minutes per side, or until desired doneness.

3) In last 30 seconds of grilling burgers, top with slabs of green chile then bacon then cheese, if using. Close lid on grill for 30 seconds to melt cheese, then serve on lettuce.

Serves 4.

 

2 Responses to “Recipe: Green Chile Bacon Burgers”

  1. These look great and the recipe sounds simply delicious.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Recipe: Green Chile Bacon Burgers | Paleo Digest - 09/29/2011

    […] on the web!Recipe: Green Chile Bacon Burgers The Paleo Periodical / Posted on: September 29, 2011The Paleo Periodical – When I lived in Albuquerque, a green chile mecca, there was an Irish pub named […]

Leave a Reply

