Recipe: Cream of Green Chile Chicken Soup

New Mexican green chile + Your grandmother’s chicken vegetable soup = Bowl full o’ yum.

This isn’t a traditional dish, more like my variation on a few themes. The thought process goes like this: “The weather’s gloomy and I’m in a soup mood. Some nice shredded chicken, some chunky veggies…ooh, green chile sounds good. And some cream to round it out. I think I’ll make that.” This is a recipe that gets better the next day, so be sure to make enough for leftovers.

As for the dairy here, I have no idea whether coconut cream would substitute or not. If you’re willing to try it, let me know how it goes. My thought is that it will skew the flavor a bit, but would probably be just fine if you’re staunchly anti-dairy.

Cream of Green Chile Chicken Soup

1 whole chicken, or leftover roasted chicken (I had a 1/2 roasted chicken leftover), or 2 lbs. chicken thighs/breasts, diced (please see Notes for alternate prep method)

4 cups chicken broth (bonus points for homemade)

1 onion, diced

3 garlic cloves, minced

4 stalks celery, diced

2 large carrots, diced

1-2 cups green chile, diced (to taste)

handful cilantro, chopped

1 Tbsp. dried oregano

2 tsp. garlic powder

1 cup heavy cream

salt and fresh ground pepper, to taste

1) In large stockpot, add chicken and pour broth in to at least halfway up the chicken carcass. Boil chicken over medium heat for 20 minutes if previously cooked and 45 minutes if uncooked, turning to make sure all parts of the chicken spend some time submerged. Remove from broth and set aside until cool enough to handle. Shred chicken from bones and add meat back to pot.

2) Add rest of ingredients except for cream, stirring together. Let simmer for 20 minutes. When almost ready to serve, stir in cream, allow to come back up to temperature but do not boil. Serve garnished with extra cilantro, if desired.

Serves 4-6.

NOTES: If using diced chicken thighs or breasts, simply sauté them in the pot, add rest of ingredients and cook until onion is translucent, then add broth until desired consistency is reached. Follow rest of instructions from there.

8 Responses to “Recipe: Cream of Green Chile Chicken Soup”

  1. This recipe sounds so good, and what a nice way to use the chile’s from my garden. The perfect time of the year.

  2. Now this one is right up my alley! I love soup. I love cream soups even better! I look forward to trying this soon.

  3. I’m wondering if you think the flavors would still be good if I used coconut milk instead of heavy cream? My hubby does not do well with dairy.

    • I’m not sure, I haven’t tried it. I think it would be worth a try, and I’d be very interested to see how it went. Or, to be on the safe side, you could just do it as a plain soup with no cream. Let me know if you do try it.

  4. I love a creamy green chile soup. Yours looks delicious!

  5. I made this tonight with my left over turkey and it was fantastic. My husband said it was great too. I will make this again many times. Such a hearty soup. Thanks for the recipe!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Recipe: Cream of Green Chile Chicken Soup | Paleo Digest - 09/28/2011

    […] web!Recipe: Cream of Green Chile Chicken Soup The Paleo Periodical / Posted on: September 28, 2011The Paleo Periodical – New Mexican green chile + Your grandmother’s chicken vegetable soup = Bowl full […]

Leave a Reply

