Recipe: Pork No Mein

Y’all. I used to be a noodle fiend. I loved all kinds and all applications. When I lived in Albuquerque years ago, there was a restaurant named Nothing But Noodles, and lemme tell you, that was a menu that made me happy. Italian noodles, Japanese noodles, Chinese noodles. I loved them all.

Obviously, noodles and I had to break up. But one of my favorite noodle dishes was Lo Mein—soft wheat noodles with a soy-based sauce and some bits of cabbage, carrot, and onion. If the cook knew what they were doing, they used a well-seasoned wok to make it and the noodles and veggies would get some nice, dark caramelized spots.

As I sat conjuring dinner one night, I had a craving for that flavor. But Asian sauces are notoriously complex, and I wasn’t sure it would even be possible to make something remotely close. I found a recipe for a homemade hoisin sauce, tweaked it for Primalization, and wokked it with some thinly sliced cabbage to stand in for noodles. Never even missed ’em.

Pork No Mein

Primal Hoisin Sauce

4 Tbsp. wheat-free tamari or coconut aminos

2 Tbsp. almond butter

1 Tbsp. molasses or honey

2 tsp. rice vinegar

1 garlic clove

2 tsp. sesame oil

1 tsp. chile-garlic sauce or 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes

couple grinds of fresh ground pepper

Meat and Veg

2 lbs. pork, cut into strips or chunks (chops, tenderloin, shoulder, boneless spareribs all work fine)

1 small head of cabbage, sliced as thinly as possible

1 carrot, quartered lengthwise then diced

1 onion, cut in half lengthwise then into thin slivers

4-5 mushrooms, cut in half then sliced thinly

oil/fat of choice, for cooking

1) Make sauce: Place all ingredients in a food processor or blender and process until smooth.

2) Preheat large skillet or wok over medium-high heat. Add cooking oil/fat and pork, stirring. When one side is beginning to brown, add all the veggies, continuing to cook until cabbage is softened and onion is translucent, about 5-6 minutes. Add sauce and stir to combine, until sauce is heated through. Serve it up!

Serves 4.

 

 

6 Responses to “Recipe: Pork No Mein”

  1. I ate this and it is totally awesome.

  2. Oh MY GOODNESS! This recipe was amazing! Do you mind if I reblog? I have been having the worst chinese food cravings and this totally fixed it. You are amazing!

  3. This looks fabulous…and I’m not even Paleo. I’ll have to add more chili though. ;-)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Recipe: Pork No Mein | Paleo Digest - 09/19/2011

    […] blogs and sites on the web!Recipe: Pork No Mein The Paleo Periodical / Posted on: September 19, 2011The Paleo Periodical – Y’all. I used to be a noodle fiend. I loved all kinds and all applications. When I […]

Leave a Reply

