What’s Your Kryptonite?

I’m generally not one for comic book references but this seems apt.

Is there one thing you feel powerless against? I’ll be honest, for me it’s ice cream. Specifically high quality vanilla bean ice cream. I don’t really need any toppings, but I won’t scoff at adding fresh berries or some dark chocolate chunks. I love the stuff and in the middle of a hot summer, can’t seem to get enough. I try to rationalize my love affair with ice cream. It’s hot, a scoop will taste great. It’s only plain vanilla icecream – not loaded with “junk”. C’mon, it’s organic!

But I know it’s loaded with sugar. And me and sugar have a long, sordid history. I grew up in a house where leftover birthday cake and a bowl of Count Chocula was considered a decent breakfast. There was a candy dish on anything that stood still. Sugar was added to pasta sauce (to reduce the acidity, don’t ya know). In high school, I worked at an Italian bakery. I was a 16 year old soccer player, I could eat whatever I wanted! Cream puffs, napoleons, cookies, I ate it all. Somewhere in my early 20’s I knew I needed to cut back but it wasn’t until I went primal that I cut it out completely.

And it wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be. For my first month of going primal I didn’t touch honey or sugar except for a few small bites of 85% dark chocolate. I felt great but still had to be aware of my tendency to reach for something sweet after a meal even when I didn’t really want it.

Then summer hit. And my husband and I would go grab a scoop of ice cream. And then there was ice cream in the house (how did it get there?!). And then I was putting honey in my coffee. Followed by making primal baked goods that had a bunch of honey in them. And the other day I looked around and realized, I’ve been eating quite a bit of sugar again.

So it seems that now is a good a time as any to get back on the wagon. I’m focusing on the next 30 days. Since I haven’t been following the 80/20 rule very well, I think it’s time to set a goal. 30 days of 100% primal. I can do this. Especially since I convinced a friend to make the commitment with me so we can keep each other in check.

Do you have any foods that you consider kryptonite? Ones that you can’teven be around because you feel so incredibly powerless against them. How do you handle these challenges? I’d love to hear any tips you have for getting back on the wagon or how you stay on the primal wagon.

2 Responses to “What’s Your Kryptonite?”

  1. Don in Arkansas Reply 08/04/2011 at 6:52 am

    Peanut butter. Definitely peanut butter.

  2. True dat! I’m totally having the same issue. I did great for a while, but it’s amazing the way even all-natural sugars can get your goat.

    I’m also recruiting a friend for a Whole30, but we’re having to wait until October. The reasons are silly and totally ridiculous, but there you have it. I just don’t know what I’m going to do without my teaspoon of honey in my morning chai…

    Another great resource for sugar detoxing is Balanced Bites’s 21-day program: http://balancedbites.com/2010/04/the-21-day-sugar-detox-program-manual-is-now-available.html

Leave a Reply

