Recipe: Grilled Fish Packets

I’ve always found grilling fish to be a giant pain in the you-know-what. No matter how much oil I used to marinate the fish or to grease the grill grates, I always managed to leave half the fish stuck to the grill. And I know they make those fish grill pans but I don’t have space in my kitchen for yet another gadget that only has one specific use. After years of frustratingly scraping fish bits off my grill, I found this recipe. It has saved my relationship with grilled fish. Below is the original that makes a great starting point but feel free to mix it up. I’ve done a red onion/mango/tomato/lime zest/cilantro combo that came out great. A Greek-inspired version with spinach, artichoke hearts, sundried tomatoes, olives and mushrooms is next on my list to try.

Grilled Fish Packets

zest of 1 lemon

1tsp dried oregano

1tsp dried basil

1/2tsp red pepper flakes

1 medium onion thinly sliced

4-6 zucchini or squash thinly sliced

4-6oz fish fillets (halibut, cod, mahi-mahi, whatever you like!)

1/4c olive oil

1c chopped cherry tomatoes

1) Preheat grill medium-high. Combine lemon zest, oregano, basil, red pepper flakes, salt & pepper.

2) Lay out four squares of aluminum foil. On each foil square, layer onion, zucchini/squash,

and fish fillet. Sprinkle with spice mixture, drizzle with oil and top with cherry tomatoes. Fold foil to form packets and crimp edges tightly.

3) Place packets on grill and cook 10-15 minutes depending on thickness of fish.

4) Remove packets from grill and transfer to plates. Dinner is served!

One Response to “Recipe: Grilled Fish Packets”

  1. Looks delicious! I have the same problem as far as fish goes. I try to get the whole fish and not remove the scales and grill them like that, after I gut them. I stuff the inside with garlic, peppers and onions. It usually doesn’t stick as long as the scales are still on.

Leave a Reply

