Recipe: Gazpacho

The minute temps hit triple digits around here, I take it as a sign to walk away from the oven and do whatever I can to make it through four months of hell summer. It’s a coping mechanism that has served me well and helped me survive 8 years in Phoenix. I’ve tried numerous gazpacho recipes over the years but I keep coming back to this one and have adapted it to suit my tastes. Serve it with some grilled chicken/fish/steak/whatever-you’ve-got-in-the-fridge and relish in not heating up the kitchen. The best part? You can make it on Sunday and it’ll last all week. And did I mention you don’t have to turn on the oven?

Gazpacho

4-5 medium tomatoes (just over 1lb.)

1 cucumber

1 1/4 c. broth

1 jar roasted-red peppers

1/3 c. chopped cilantro

2 limes

1-3 chipotle chiles in adobo sauce*

Garnish vegetables (bell peppers, avocado, scallions, jicama or whatever suits your fancy)

1) Chop tomatoes and half of the cucumber and place in food processor or blender. Add roasted red peppers, cilantro, and chipotle chiles. Add half of the broth and the juice from the limes.

2) Blend ingredients until smooth and then pour into a large bowl.

Add the rest of the broth and season with S&P. Chill.

3) Chop other half of cucumber, bell peppers, scallions, avocado or whatever other vegetables you’d like to serve as garnish.

4) Serve gazpacho and let folks add the garnish they’d like.

*If you’ve never used chipotle chiles in adobe sauce be careful! Those suckers pack a punch. I’d suggest starting with one or two and work your way up depending on your heat tolerance.

2 Responses to “Recipe: Gazpacho”

    • I find that with the flavor of the chipotle chiles, garlic isn’t necessary. But if you like garlic by all means add it! I’d play around with the amounts starting with only a clove or two. I wouldn’t want the raw garlic to overpower the other flavors.

Leave a Reply

