Recipe: Quick & Dirty! Avocado Tuna Salad

You know that Oh-Crap-There’s-Nothing-in-the-Fridge feeling? It seems to happen to me most at lunchtime. And it can be hard to whip up a Paleo-friendly lunch with the dregs of what’s on hand. My suggestion is to make sure you have plenty of good tuna in the pantry.

I feel lucky to have access to Sweet Creek’s Albacore Tuna, packed in a jar. It’s line-caught off the coast of Oregon, which means my purchase is supporting sustainable fishing in my home state. If you live in Washington, Oregon, or California, I highly recommend their tuna. If you don’t and you’re concerned about BPA in cans, check out this list for some brands that don’t use BPA in their cans.

This little life-saver of a recipe has plenty of good fats and great texture from the crunchy veggies. But before I give it to you, let’s review the Quick & Dirty! rulebook:

  • There may not be formal measurements, though I’ll try to ballpark it. Eyeball what you’ve got for how many you’re feeding. Instructions may be loose, but I trust you.
  • The ingredients are not hard and fast. Feel free to deviate as necessary.
  • The whole meal must come together in less than 30 minutes.
  • It ain’t gonna be pretty.
  • Don’t blame me if it’s not perfect. The whole point is that it’s not perfect!

 Avocado Tuna Salad

1 avocado, diced

2 Tbsp. Greek yogurt or mayo (I’m guessing this might work without, if you’re so inclined)

1 small garlic clove

Juice and zest of 1/2 lemon

1 Tbsp. olive oil

1 can/jar tuna

2 Tbsp. capers

1 cup diced, crunchy veggies (whatever’s on hand: turnip, carrot, jicama, celery, onion, radish, rutabaga, etc.)

S&P to taste

Lettuce or mixed greens, for serving

— Add avocado, yogurt/mayo, garlic clove, lemon zest and juice, and olive oil to a food processor. Whirl it up. Dump in bowl with tuna, capers, and veggies and stir to combine. S&P to taste. Serve on lettuce.

Serves 2.

 

 

 

8 Responses to “Recipe: Quick & Dirty! Avocado Tuna Salad”

  1. This was so delicious! I used carrots and celery for my crunchy veg and red leaf lettuce. I didn’t have any capers, however. It was still good without them. I bet this dressing would be good on a lot of stuff!

  2. Ok, I’m definitely trying this! It looks fabulous. Where do you get the Sweet Creek tuna?

  3. I made this tonight and it was yummy! Best tuna salad I have ever had. I used fat free plain yogurt (I hate Greek yogurt!) and celery, carrots, & red onions. The avocado mixture would be good on so many other things :)

  4. I made this as a pasta tuna salad with a half of box of whole wheat pasta shells, a can of drained peas, 3 diced hard boiled eggs and chopped celery. I did not use the olive oil. I hate using mayonnaise and this did the job!

  5. Trying this one too…although finding good tuna around here will be a challenge

  6. This was delicious! Used broccoli, carrots and celery for veggies. Did not use mayo or yogurt and still yummy. Rolled it in lettuce leaves :) Thanks!

  7. So unbelievably good! I used a bell pepper and homemade mayo. I will add more bell pepper next time. I scooped it onto cucumber boats and I’m going to roll the leftovers in lettuce leaves. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

