Primal Pizza Party!

It’s Pizza Week at The Paleo Periodical!

It’s been over 6 months of Primal eating, and somehow we’ve made it this far without ever trying a Primal pizza. We decided to finally remedy that by having a pizza taste-off with our good friends, Heather and Brian, who we’ve conned into going Primal too.

We thought it only fair to try one of each variety: almond flour crust, cauliflower crust, and (of course!) The Meatza.

The almond flour crust was traditionally dressed with red sauce, olives, pepperoni, salami, mushrooms, an Italian cheese blend, and some fresh mozzarella.

Topping the cauliflower crust was a traditional mix of red sauce, mushrooms, basil, mozzarella, and Italian sausage.

Since the first two were familiar, we decided to go a little different with The Meatza—spicy tomato sauce, jalapeños, onions, cilantro, and a cheddar/jack cheese blend.

My initial thoughts:

  1. The Meatza is a bit intense. I’m not so sure about this.
  2. There’s no way in heck the cauliflower crust can win. I confess to not being a fan of cauliflower “rice”, so I thought this one was going home with an “Honorary Participant” ribbon.
  3. The almond flour crust was going to be my favorite.

How did it end up?

  1. The Meatza wasn’t as intense as I expected. I think you can’t really consider it in the pizza category, it’s its own sub-genre somewhere between meatloaf and Salisbury steak. I feel like toppings on this would be best kept to crispy or assertive veggies like olives, peppers, onions, tomatoes, spinach, etc. I know a lot of folks top theirs with more meat, but to me, that would be overkill.
  2. The Cauliflower Crust Pizza

    The cauliflower crust pizza was AWESOME. Nobody would believe it was cauliflower if they didn’t know better. And to my surprise, you could actually pick up the pieces by hand. This crust mimicked a thin crust pizza very well. Top it with anything.

  3. Mmm…I wouldn’t call it my favorite, but I would say it’s the closest you’re going to get to a traditional pizza crust. I didn’t roll my dough out thin enough, so it was a bit bready, but other than that the flavor was fantastic. Again, the sky’s the limit on toppings.

Another surprise = the leftovers on all three were great. In particular, The Meatza is a perfect option for cooking a big batch and eating on it the rest of the week. I was really shocked the almond flour crust held up in the fridge.

All three of these pizzas require the crust to be pre-baked and then you top it and broil it for a few minutes. Some great advice from the author of The Meatza recipe is to dice up all toppings very small so they crisp up. I would also say that if you’re using fresh tomatoes, slice them as thinly as possible and place them between sheets of paper towels to drain. Otherwise, you’ll end up with excess liquid that will either be annoying or will make everything soggy.

The recipes: almond flour crust pizza (here), The Meatza (here), and cauliflower crust pizza (here). Buon appetito!

One Response to “Primal Pizza Party!”

  1. Somebody “thumbs down”ed a pizza party post? Really?! I’m not even being controversial here. Sheesh.

Leave a Reply

