Recipe: Grilled Halibut w/ Herb-Caper Relish

What is with halibut prices this year? Have you noticed the premium pricetag? I couldn’t find much information about it except that the overall catch quota was reduced to allow some little fish to put on weight and that prices ended high last year, so they were starting there this year. It seems to be competing with grass-fed ribeyes on price. Sheesh.

Halibut is my favorite fish. It’s firm, meaty, and has a mild flavor. I’ve mentioned it before, but I’m a New Mexican girl and I didn’t grow up shucking oysters. Adventurous ocean eating is not my thing. You won’t find me slurping tentacles or pouring raw, limp, slimy bodies down my gullet. So when I found a good sized halibut fillet for a not-too-terrible price, I was stoked. And I knew just what to do with it.

Grilled Halibut w/ Herb-Caper Relish

Relish

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 shallot, minced fine

1 lemon, juiced and zested

1/4 cup capers

handful chopped fresh herbs, like basil, mint, dill, oregano, thyme, parsley, chives (I used basil and parsley for this version)

1/3 cup olive oil (use the best you can)

kosher salt and fresh ground pepper, to taste

Halibut

4 halibut fillets, or other firm fish (salmon, mahi mahi, cod)

kosher salt and fresh ground pepper, to taste

1) Preheat grill (if gas, turn on high for 10 minutes; if charcoal, light and wait until coals are white and hot). Meanwhile, make relish: combine all relish ingredients and season with S&P to taste.

2) Sprinkle S&P over both sides of fish, then dip fingers into relish and rub the oil on both sides as well. Slap fillets on grill over medium-high heat. Now, LEAVE THEM ALONE. Here’s a secret: the fillets will come unstuck when they are ready to turn, about 5 minutes. I was impatient and lost some of the surface of the fillets. Don’t be like me (it was really late and I was hungry!). Or, if you’re concerned about them sticking, use a fish basket to keep fillets intact. Once turned, give them another 5 minutes, or until desired doneness. Serve with relish.

Serves 4.

NOTES: Regular readers will recognize my all-time favorite grilled sidekick, asparagus. Simply tossed with olive oil and S&P.

2 Responses to “Recipe: Grilled Halibut w/ Herb-Caper Relish”

  1. This relish look delicious! I’m eager to try in on my next grilled fish.

  2. Oh man does that look good! I am droooooling. Must make tonight.

Leave a Reply

