Recipe: Quick & Dirty! New Yawk Deli Roll-Ups

This one was too simple, I wasn’t going to post it. But I’ve been away on vacation to the coast for a few days and I haven’t had a chance to do my reading and keep up-to-date for the blog. So allow me a down day and I’ll give you a bonus recipe. It’s a little taste of deli heaven, just without the rye bread.

Besides, it’s those times I need something quick and easy that are the hardest to stay Primal. You know, those times when in the back of your head, an evil voice says, “You could’ve eaten a bagel by now!”

Let’s review the Quick and Dirty! rulebook, shall we?

  • There may not be formal measurements, though I’ll try to ballpark it. Eyeball what you’ve got for how many you’re feeding. Instructions may be loose, but I trust you.
  • The ingredients are not hard and fast. Feel free to deviate as necessary.
  • The whole meal must come together in less than 30 minutes.
  • It ain’t gonna be pretty.
  • Don’t blame me if it’s not perfect. The whole point is that it’s not perfect!

New Yawk Deli Roll-Ups

Several slices pastrami (I like Niman Ranch, look for something organic and/or minimally processed)

A good mustard

Deli-style pickle spears, lacto-fermented if you can find them (I cut mine lengthwise because they were huge)

Sauerkraut, lacto-fermented if you can find it

 

 

• Lay out pastrami slices. Slather with mustard, sprinkle with sauerkraut, and lay a pickle spear perpendicular to meat. Roll meat around pickle spear until completely rolled up. Serve!

6 Responses to “Recipe: Quick & Dirty! New Yawk Deli Roll-Ups”

  1. We are doing a cross country road trip to AHS, from Atlanta to LA, and this is going to be a staple for us on the road!

  2. I do this all the time!!! Many in the Paleo world frown on lunch meat, but I love my roast beef!!! Great post!!

    Tim
    http://facebook.com/bigtimsprimaljourney

  3. Paul Weidinger Reply 06/16/2011 at 7:46 am

    I made this two days in a row. It’s a quick and delicious snack. Thanks for the suggestion!

    If you are not averse to eating cheese, a little melted pepper jack on top of this can do wonders.

  4. This looks goooood. Will have to pick up some pastrami later! I’m thinking of sprinkling some ground caraway seed on the mustard and sauerkraut to get the rye flavor without the grain. . .

Leave a Reply

