Recipe: Primal Banana Bread

That “B” word doesn’t show up much around these parts. But I’ve been on the hunt for the perfect banana bread for years. Going Primal didn’t slow my urge for a moist, dense loaf of bananafied goodness, so I decided to try a few recipes out there.

What I kept running into was something closer to a bread pudding, what with all the eggs and the non-absorbent almond flour. Which was fine, but I craved that bready texture and I wanted the banana flavor to really come through. I thought about trying a coconut flour version since it’s more absorbent, but then it dawned on me—why not combine both almond and coconut flours for their respective benefits?

Several attempts later, I think I’ve got it. This is sooooo good. Especially warmed up with a couple slabs of pastured butter on top.

Primal Banana Bread

*Editor’s Note 12/23/11: I made this again recently and made a few tweaks. Nothing drastic, but the recipe has been updated.*

3 cups almond flour (I’ve also used hazelnut flour)

2 Tbsp. coconut flour

2 Tbsp. ground flaxseed

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. cinnamon (I do 1/2 cinnamon, 1/2 cardamom)

1/2 tsp. salt

1/4 cup plain full-fat Greek yogurt OR coconut milk

2 Tbsp. honey

1 Tbsp. vanilla

3 eggs

3 bananas, mashed

1) Preheat oven to 375°F. Meanwhile, add dry ingredients (almond flour through salt) to large bowl and whisk to combine.

2) Add wet ingredients (yogurt/coconut milk through eggs) to a separate bowl and whisk thoroughly to combine. When mixture is smooth, stir in mashed bananas.

3) Add wet mixture to dry ingredients and stir to combine. If you’re feeling decadent, you can add some chocolate chips at this point. Pour mixture into a well-greased loaf pan (coconut oil is perfect for this) and put in the oven. Set the timer for 45 minutes.

4) Check on bread at 45 minutes. Mine usually seems to need a few more minutes. Pat the loaf, and if it seems or sounds squishy in the middle, give it another 3 minutes (set that timer!). This is usually enough for mine to finish cooking, but continue in 2 minute intervals until it’s ready if needed.

5) Now here’s the hard part—don’t touch it! It must cool COMPLETELY if you want to get it all out in one piece. When cool, turn over onto a plate, slice, and serve.

Makes 1 loaf.

12 Responses to “Recipe: Primal Banana Bread”

  1. Oooh, I love banana bread. I have two in our freezer which of course I can’t eat now I’m primal. Thanks for posting. Where do I get almond flour?

    • Hmm…where are you? I’m able to find it at most of the grocery stores here under the Bob’s Red Mill brand. If you have any health food stores, I’m guessing they’d have it. I’ve also heard of people making it themselves in the food processor, but you have to stop short of making almond butter. :) Purelyprimal.com recommends this one: http://store.honeyvillegrain.com/blanchedalmondflour5lb.aspx that you can order online. If you have a Trader Joe’s near you, they carry it for the best price I’ve seen, around $3.99/lb, whereas I pay almost $10/lb.

  2. Thanks! I have a WF and a TJs so I’ll take a look next time I’m there. Thanks a lot.

  3. yumm karen…thanks for a new recipe!

    and almond flour at trader joes is cheap!

  4. This bread is outstanding! Y-U-M-M-Y!!! And, just to give it a little more texture/variety, I added unsweetened coconut flakes, blueberries and raspberries (whatever I had available, pretty much ;) and it was a HUGE hit, both at home AND at work where no one eats the way I do. Yay for a fantastic banana bread! Thanks, K! xox

    • Aw, glad it worked, Jess! I swear, I bet the folks at work would’ve had no idea if you didn’t tell ’em. ;) And yes, the recipe is pretty forgiving. Throw whatever you want in there.

  5. Soo good and just like the real thing! Loved it!

  6. Good to know about Trader Joe’s almond flour. I have been wondering how it was. I used honeyville before but haven’t taken the time to order more.

  7. OK, this is on my ‘must try’ list. Old school banana bread is something I dearly miss. One of the things I always added to my banana bread in the past was about a teaspoon of lemon zest. It really brightens up the flavor of the bread.

  8. Reblogged this on spurlockshomeschool and commented:
    Yummy! The kids didn’t have school today, so we made this :)

Leave a Reply

