Recipe: Blueberry-Apricot Cardamom Almond Flour Muffins

Whew, that’s a mouthful! And yes they were. A tasty, tasty mouthful.

It was that time again, time for a substitution treat, so I trolled the internet looking for a muffin recipe (see my previous article about substitutions here). I’m not a great baker. Never was pre-Primal either. So you won’t find many original baking recipes here. What I found was this, which reminded me of this, but I gave it my own spin and it was so good, I thought I’d share it with you.

Of course this template can be used with whatever fruit and spices you have on hand. But I’m especially in love with ground cardamom right now, so if you have some around, give it a try.

EDIT: I’ve tweaked the recipe, changes reflected below.

BlAprCardMuffinsBlueberry-Apricot Cardamom Almond Flour Muffins

2 cups almond flour
1 Tbsp. coconut flour
2 Tbsp. flax meal (optional, I like the flavor it provides)
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. ground cardamom
½ tsp. salt

4 eggs
1 Tbsp. vanilla extract
2 Tbsp. coconut oil or butter, gently melted
¼ cup honey or maple syrup (or less, to taste)

½ cup fresh or frozen (thawed) blueberries
⅓ cup dried apricots, diced small

1) Preheat oven to 350ºF. Whisk together all dry ingredients (flour through salt) in a large bowl. In a separate bowl, whisk together the eggs and vanilla. Add the honey to the melted coconut oil/butter, whisk together, then add to the egg mixture and whisk to combine.

2) Stir wet ingredients into dry. Fold in blueberries and apricots.

3) Place paper liners in a 12-cup muffin tin. Fill cups evenly with muffin mixture.

4) Place muffin tin in the oven, set timer for 20 minutes. Check the muffins by giving them a pat on top. If they still sound and feel squishy, give them a few more minutes.

Makes 12 muffins.

NOTES: Toddler approved. Also, as you may know, almond or coconut flour baked stuffs don’t keep very well. I wouldn’t keep these around for more than 48 hours. So if you’re in danger of not finishing these in time, share them with some friends or co-workers. But they make such a great breakfast, dessert, or snack that I doubt you’ll have any trouble.

7 Responses to “Recipe: Blueberry-Apricot Cardamom Almond Flour Muffins”

  1. This looks awsome! I wonder if I could also add a little leftover pulp from my juicer?

  2. This is the first no sugar, no grain muffin recipe I have tried. It is perfect. I prefer it over a wheat / sugar muffin any day. I will be telling my family about this recipe!

  3. Nice sounding recipe! I’m likely going to make this next week for a bake sale — perhaps switching in fresh strawberries for the apricot, which I don’t care for (reducing a little of the liquid along the way to reflect this), and using real maple syrup in proper ratio instead of honey. I have a compatriot who was disappointed that at the last bake sale my effort was only partially gluten-free (I was afraid what I made would have fallen apart), so this time I’m going to make sure he can eat my offering!

    I bake baked goods about two or three times a year. Even before I started caring about nutritional/dietary issues. (and since leaving home, always from scratch).

    • I’ve made a version with strawberries as well, and yes, you’ll need to reduce the liquid a bit. Also, just keep an eye on them at the end of baking and if they still sound moist when you press down on them, give them another minute or two. They should be nice and toasty brown on top. You shouldn’t have any trouble subbing maple syrup for the honey. Let me know how they turn out!

  4. I made them today with pastry whole wheat flour and fresh apricots and they were delicious! Thx!

Leave a Reply

