The Return of the Farmers’ Market!

Today marked the first day of our little town’s Tuesday Farmers’ Market after its winter hiatus, and despite the rain, my daughter and I were there.

Only a handful of vendors are willing to brave the weather this time of year, so the market doesn’t really get going until late May or early June. But I was so excited to stock up on my favorites, it hardly mattered. Besides, with no lines, you can hang out and chat with the vendors and you don’t have to elbow the competition away from the last dozen eggs. My haul today: 2 lbs. ground buffalo, 1 ginormous buffalo tri-tip, 1 lb. pork sausage, a dozen eggs, leeks, chard, broccoli, salad mix, shallots, scallions, cilantro, and wild huckleberries (frozen). All organic, seasonal, and local.

This is the first time I’ve been back to the market since going Paleo/Primal and it was shocking how many stalls won’t be seeing me anymore. There’s the tamale lady, the jams and jellies stand, the pasta lady, the homemade donut cart, and about 8 stalls of baked goods including breads, pizza crusts, cookies, and pastries. It was also shocking to realize how much of that stuff I ate EVERY WEEK. There will no doubt be some strategic cheats between now and the close of the market in November, especially in August when peaches are in season and there are the most amazing, flaky peach turnovers. Oh, and those melt-in-your-mouth homemade pumpkin donuts in October. But that’s it, I swear!

On the other hand, there are some stalls I will see more of, like the pastured buffalo/pork folks (more on them below), the hamburger cart, the olive oil table, and there’s a guy who sells rabbit. That’s right. I’m going to try rabbit sometime this season, and I’ll be sure to post about it.

But what I’m really excited about? The knife sharpening guy. I need to take in my whole set because they are damn near murderously dull. I’m lucky to have all my digits. Trouble is I’m embarrassed because my knives really need to be replaced and I’m afraid he’ll laugh me away from his little trailer window. But now that I have a renewed commitment to meat in my diet, sharp knives are a priority.

About that buffalo and pork: I discovered today that Full Circle Bison Ranch ships nationwide, even to Hawaii. They are a great family company out of Williams, Oregon, and they are conscientious stewards of the earth. The animals are 100% grass-fed and pastured for their entire lives. This is difficult to find, especially for pork, and I feel so fortunate to have it available locally. And now, if you’re having a hard time finding it, you can have it delivered to your door.

I always have some of their ground buffalo in the freezer, and I’ve been having fun trying out new cuts of meat. I plan on making some nice medium-rare roast beef with my tri-tip. If you’ve been looking for good, pure lard with no additives, I highly recommend theirs.

What’re your favorite Farmers’ Market finds?

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

