Recipe: Dirty Snowballs

Really?!

I don’t know what’s wrong with me. A smidgen over a month into this whole Primal thing and my subconscious mind is beginning to rebel. I should start by saying that I’ve never been one with overwhelming food urges, and when presented with delectable treats, I have no trouble with portion control. But lately I’ve been having what they call “intrusive food thoughts,” meaning, I’ll be in the middle of something completely unrelated to lemon layer cake, but all of a sudden I will see, clear as day, a lemon layer cake and want said lemon layer cake. I didn’t think much of lemon layer cake BEFORE I went Primal! Does this happen to anyone else?

I figure it’s just my sneaky body trying to reassert its dominance. It’s the last siren song of my dying fat cells, calling out for rescue. I’ve been divided over whether the proper response is to a) Give in, but responsibly; or b) Deny it until it goes away.

I think you know where this is heading.

Dirty Snowballs

 

1 cup macadamia nuts

1.5 – 2 oz. (about half) 85% (or more) dark chocolate bar

1/4 cup unsweetened finely shredded coconut

 

1) Melt 1/2 chocolate bar in microwave for 30 seconds. Break remaining bar into pieces with a spoon, stir, and heat for another 30 seconds. Stir to melt it completely. (If you don’t have a microwave, melt gently over low heat on the stove. Don’t scorch it!)

2) Add macadamia nuts to the melted chocolate. Stir until all nuts are covered with chocolate.

3) Pour the coated nuts onto a rimmed baking sheet lined with parchment paper in a single layer.

4) Sprinkle coconut over the nuts.

5) Place baking sheet in the refrigerator for 30 minutes to set the chocolate. Then place the nuts in a container and store in the fridge.

Makes 1 cup.

NOTES: For snacking, I prefer raw, unsalted macadamia nuts, but I really enjoyed the salt of salted macadamias in this recipe.

The chocolate I used is Vivani 85% dark chocolate. It has only 6 grams of carbs per serving and no weird ingredients like soy lecithin. Not all dark chocolates are created equal! Check your labels.

I realize there are chocolate-covered macadamia nuts out there, but this way, you get to control the ingredients that go into them. It makes for a bit of mess when you eat them, since there are no strange stabilizers or waxes, but you can just lick your fingers when you’re done. I won’t tell.

 

2 Responses to “Recipe: Dirty Snowballs”

  1. I would think it is better to deny it if it happens in the first few weeks (and unless it is too overwhelming). Your body might not really know what it is craving yet, and adaptation might be more slowly. Also, whilst you do of course have to give in to your cravings from time to time it is a slippery slope…

  2. It is indeed a slippery slope, especially for some people, and I feel lucky not to have too much trouble with it. In this particular instance for me, it became better to head it off at the pass with a completely Primal snack (dark chocolate 85% and above is considered an okay sometime-treat), rather than be haunted by an increasingly louder ghost. Especially since the minimal sugars are balanced out by the rich oils in the macadamia nuts. Yum…Thanks for reading my little blog, Thor.

Leave a Reply

